

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEMBERS MEETING

Date: Monday, December 17, 2018 Time: 4:45-5:00pm

Location: Stationview Room, 1st Floor – 216 Ontario Street

Invited: Judith Pineault, Chair Mayor Paterson Councillor Oosterhof

Councillor Boehme Councillor Chapelle Gillian Watters
David Carnegie Don Aldridge John Sheridan

Trevor Wilson

Staff: Donna Gillespie Kirk Smallridge

Guests: Laura Turner

Regrets: Lyndsay Wise Gerard Hunt (ex officio) Megan Knott (ex officio)

Councillor Hutchison Bill Durnford

1. Call to Order

• The Board of Directors Members meeting was called to order at 4:37pm by Chair, Judith Pineault.

2. Approval of Agenda

 Motion to "Approve the agenda as presented;" Moved by Dave Carnegie. Seconded by Gillian Watters. Carried.

3. Disclosure of Conflict of Interest

None

4. Approval of the Minutes

 Motion to "Approve the minutes of the Annual General Meeting, May 14, 2018;" Moved by Dave Carnegie. Seconded by Gillian Watters. Carried.

5. Ratification of email motion to change Corporate By-law

- Every director shall be a member of the Corporation, eighteen (18 years) of age or older, a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, and not an undischarged bankrupt.
- Motion to "Ratify acceptance and reappointment;" Moved by Mayor Paterson.
 Seconded by Trevor Wilson. Carried.



BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEMBERS MEETING

- 6. Ratification of the acceptance of membership and re-appointment of Board Directors Effective January 1, 2019, accept as members of the Corporation and re-appoint as Directors: John Sheridan for a three-year term ending on December 31, 2021; Don Aldridge for a three-year term ending on December 31, 2021; Judith Pineault for a one-year term ending on December 31, 2019.
 - Motion to "Ratify acceptance of Councillors;" Moved by Dave Carnegie. Seconded by Mayor Paterson. Carried.
- 7. Ratification of the acceptance of membership and the appointment and/or re-appointment of Municipal Board Directors

Effective as of December 1, 2018, accept as members of the Corporation and appoint as directors:

Councillors Chapelle, Boehme and Oosterhof for one-year terms ending November 30, 2019 respectively.

Mayor Paterson for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2019 ending November 30, 2022.

- **Motion to** "Ratify acceptance and reappointment of Municipal Board Directors;" Moved by Dave Carnegie. Seconded by Trevor Wilson. Carried.
- 8. Acceptance of Membership and appointment of "at-large" Board Directors
 As put forward by the Corporation's Nominations Committee and the City Nominations
 Committee accept member of the Corporation and appoint as Director:
 Yafan Huang for a one-year term commencing January 1, 2019 and ending December 31, 2019;
 - Motion to "Accept the Membership and appointment of at-large Board Directors;"
 Moved by Mayor Paterson. Seconded by Gillian Watters. Carried.
- 9. Ratification of the actions of the Board and Officers of the Corporation for 2018
 - Motion to "Ratify actions of Board and Officers;" Moved by Dave Carnegie. Seconded by Don Aldridge. Carried.
- 10. Dissolution of Membership of the following Director effective December 31, 2018

 Motion to dissolve the membership of the following Director effective December 31, 2018.
 - **Motion to** "Dissolve the membership of Trevor Wilson;" Moved by Councillor Chapelle. Seconded by Mayor Paterson. Carried.
- 11. Motion to dissolve the membership of the following Directors effective November 30, 2018.
 - Motion to "Dissolve the membership of Councillors Laura Turner and Rob Hutchison;"
 Moved by Councillor Chapelle. Seconded by Mayor Paterson. Carried
- 12. Motion to thank Trevor Wilson, Councillors Hutchison and Laura Turner for their service as Directors to the Kingston Economic Development Board of Directors in 2018.
 - Motion to "Thank Trevor Wilson and Councillors Rob Hutchison and Laura Turner;"
 Moved by Councillor Chapelle. Seconded by Mayor Paterson. Carried.



BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEMBERS MEETING

- 13. Election of Officers
 - The following Board members have indicated their willingness to serve:
 - Chair David Carnegie
 - Vice-Chair John Sheridan
 - Secretary/Treasurer Gillian Watters
 - **Motion to** "Ratify the appointment of the Officers of the Board of Directors for 2019;" Moved by Mayor Paterson. Seconded by Don Aldridge. Carried.
- 14. Other
 - None
- 15. Upcoming Meetings
 - Annual General Meeting April 29, 2019
- 16. Adjournment
 - **Motion to** "Adjourn the Board of Directors Members meeting;" Moved by Lyndsay Wise. Seconded by Trevor Wilson. Carried. 4:46pm.

Judith Pineault, Chair	Director	
Date		