KINGSTON

— Economic Development —

BOARD OF DIRECTORS ALL-MEMBERS MEETING MINUTES

Date:	Monday, December 12, 2022	Time: 4:15pm	
Location:	Frontenac Club Inn, 225 King St E, Kingston, ON K7L 3A7		
Attended:	Gillian Watters, Chair Cathy Campbell-Wilson Shan Jhamandas	Mayor Paterson Patrick Egbunonu Yafan Huang	Anne Vivian-Scott Peng-Sang Cau
Staff:	Donna Gillespie	Kirk Smallridge	Shelley Hirstwood
Guest:	Councillor Glenn	Councillor Hassan	Sanjay Jain
Regrets:	Councillor McLaren Lanie Hurdle (ex officio)	Councillor Oosterhof Megan Knott (ex officio)	Wanda Costen

Our Vision: An innovative city where private and public enterprises thrive, individuals and entrepreneurs grow, and a diversity of people want to visit, live, work and do business.

1. Call to Order

• The Meeting was called to order by Chair. Gillian Watters, at 4:24pm.

2. Land Acknowledgment Statement

Kingston Economic Development Corporation acknowledges that we are situated on the traditional homeland of the Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee and the Huron-Wendat and thank these nations for their care and stewardship over this shared land. Kingston Economic Development Corporation is committed to improving and strengthening relationships with Indigenous peoples and all residents to pursue a united path of reconciliation and economic prosperity.

3. Disclosure of Conflict of Interest

None

4. Approval of Agenda

Motion to accept the agenda. Mover: Mayor Paterson Seconder: Anne Vivian-Scott Carried.

5. Approval of the April 25, 2022 Board of Directors Annual General Meeting Minutes

Motion to accept the April 25, 2022 Annual General Meeting minutes. Mover: Anne Vivian-Scott Seconder: Mayor Paterson Carried.

Our Mission

BOARD OF DIRECTORS ALL-MEMBERS MEETING MINUTES

6. Bylaw Amendment Regarding ex officio positions

Motion to amend the Bylaws as presented. Mover: Cathy Campbell-Wilson Seconder: Anne Vivian-Scott

Carried.

- The Board of Directors reviewed and discussed proposed Bylaw amendments that would allow the Past-Chair to serve as ex-officio when a director has served their maximum consecutive terms, and immediately prior to the expiry of their last term held the office of President/Chairperson of the board, that individual is permitted to continue to be an ex-officio director in the role of Past Chair for a single term of one year.
- 7. Ratification of the acceptance of membership and the appointment of Directors effective January 1, 2023, accept as members of the Corporation and appoint as Directors:

Sanjay Jain for a three-year term ending on December 31, 2025. Motion to accept appointment of at-large Directors. Mover: Peng-Sang Cau Seconder: Shan Jhamandas Carried.

8. Ratification of the acceptance of membership and the appointment and re-appointment of Municipal Board Directors

Effective as of December 12, 2022, accept as members of the corporation and appoint as directors:

- Mayor Paterson for one-year term ending December 31, 2023;
- Councillor Glenn for one-year term ending December 31, 2023;
- Councillor Hassan for one-year term ending December 31, 2023;
- Councillor Oosterhof for one-year term ending December 31, 2023.

Motion to accept the appointment of the 2023 Municipal Directors. Mover: Peng-Sang Cau Seconder: Shan Jhamandas Carried.

9. Ratification of the actions of the Board and Officers of the Corporation for 2022 Motion to ratify the actions of the Board and Officers of the Corporation for 2022 Mover: Anne Vivian-Scott Seconder: Mayor Paterson Carried.

10. Dissolution of the Membership of the following Municipal Director effective November 30, 2022

- Councillor Jeff McLaren
- Wayne Hill

Motion to dissolve the membership Councillor McLaren and Wayne Hill effective November 30, 2022

Mover: Anne Vivian-Scott Seconder: Mayor Paterson Carried.

Our Mission

Provide dynamic and collaborative leadership by leveraging Kingston's unique assets to create jobs and investment in order to sustain, grow and transform Kingston's economy to meet the needs of the 21st century. We aim to be one of Canada's leading economies.



BOARD OF DIRECTORS ALL-MEMBERS MEETING MINUTES

11. Dissolution of Membership of the following Directors effective December **31**, **2022**

• Gillian Watters Motion to dissolve the membership Gillian Watters effective December 31, 2022 Mover: Peng-Sang Cau Seconder: Anne Vivian-Scott Carried.

12. Motion to thank Gillian Watters and Councillors Jeff McLaren and Wayne Hill for their service and dedication as Directors to the Kingston Economic Development Corporation Motion to thank Gillian Watters, Councillor McLaren and Wayne Hill for their service on the Kingston Economic Development Board of Directors Mover: Anne Vivian-Scott Seconder: Peng-Sang Cau Carried.

13. Election of Officers

- Chair Anne Vivian-Scott
- Vice-Chair(s) Cathy Campbell-Wilson
- Treasurer Peng-Sang Cau
- Secretary Shan Jhamandas

Motion to elect as officers to the Kingston Economic Development Board of Directors Mover: Mayor Paterson Seconder: Yafan Huang Carried.

14. 2023 Committee Appointment

• Finance & Audit Committee

- i. Peng-Sang Cau Treasurer/Committee Chair
- ii. Patrick Egbunonu
- iii. Sanjay Jain
- iv. Shan Jhamandas
- v. Councillor Hassan
- vi. Councillor Glenn

Human Resources & Nominations Committee

- i. Anne Vivian-Scott Chair
- ii. Cathy Campbell-Wilson
- iii. Councillor Oosterhof
- iv. Shan Jhamandas
- v. Peng-Sang Cau

Motion to confirm the appointment of the 2023 Board of Directors Committees Mover: Mayor Paterson

Seconder: Sanjay Jain

Carried.

 Motion to "Thank the outgoing Chair, Gillian Watters, and Vice-Chair, Yafan Huang, for their service and leadership;" Moved by Anne Vivian-Scott. Seconded by Cathy Campbell-Wilson. Carried.

Our Mission

Provide dynamic and collaborative leadership by leveraging Kingston's unique assets to create jobs and investment in order to sustain, grow and transform Kingston's economy to meet the needs of the 21st century. We aim to be one of Canada's leading economies.



BOARD OF DIRECTORS ALL-MEMBERS MEETING MINUTES

15. In Camera (if needed)

• None

16. Date of Next Meetings

• Monday, April 17, 2023 – Annual General Meeting

17. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn. Mover: Mayor Paterson Seconder: Shan Jhamandas Carried. 4:39pm.